Greens Baby!

Tonight’s Whole Foods Cooking Demo was top notch!

The theme:  GREENS

What a fun way to learn how to cook with different types of greens – right?

I knew we were in for a treat when this was my first sight upon arrival 😉

Pass the greens pleaseeeeee!

Don’t mind if I do 😀

First stop:

The juice station. 

Here we will juice just about anything we can get our hands on, including apples, carrots, carrot greens, beets, beet greens and kale… anddddd I’m sure I forgot a few.

Chef Jesse gettin’ crazy up in here?!?!

Mmmmm refreshing – and a shot kick of vitamins at that 😛

Next stop, Italy: 

Spicy Italian Style Broccoli Raab over Polenta

Olive oil, garlic, broccoli raab, white wine, crushed red pepper, salt & pepper.

Served over a scoop of delicious polenta.

This was my first experience with broccoli raab and I loved it.  It’s definitely a bitter green but the creamy polenta balanced it perfectly!

Asian-flavor stop:

Teriyaki Bok Choy and Shitake Mushroom Stir-Fry

Garlic, green onion, sesame oil, bok choy, shitake mushrooms, teriyaki sauce and rice.

So excited to find a great new way to prepare one of my favorite farmer’s market goodies!

Favorite stop of the evening:

Roasted Beets with Sauteed Beet Greens

Olive oil, garlic, shallot (ahhh the key!), beets & beet greens, salt & pepper.

I think ya’ll know how much I love the roasted beet, so this was a given 🙂

And I’ve only ventured to cook with the greens once or twice, but after this preparation I will no longer be throwing away all that leafy goodness next time!

Most surprising stop:

Southern Style Collard Greens (Healthy Version)

Collards, garlic, crushed red pepper, smoked paprika, salt and pepper.

Collard greens are considered a “hearty green” so they take a bit longer to cook.  These simmered away for almost the entire class, close to an hour I think?

The result:  a warm, tender, smoky tasting green! 

The smoked paprika gave it that great smokey flavor without the use of meat (e.g. classic ham hock).  I really didn’t expect to like this one all that much for some reason, but I did!  Even Fanatic Mom was surprised!

Dessert stop:  because we ate our vegetables, right? 😉

Mochi Ice Cream

Pounded sticky rice with an ice cream filling.

Has anyone else ever tried this?!?!?  This was my first time and it was so fun!  A fluffy, sticky outside with cold, creamy ice cream in the middle – I had the vanilla and was instantly a fan 😀

Overall, I was so excited about this class.  Greens are definitely a part of my diet that I need to “beef up” (no pun intended 😉 ) and it was great to learn some great ways to do so!

Can’t wait for next month already… thanks Jesse!

One response to “Greens Baby!

  1. I really did not think you would like the collard greens! Once again Chef Jessie came up with a great presentation of delicious recipes. I love the fact that Whole Foods offers these cooking demos and that they are free. It doesn’t get much better than that!

Leave a Reply

