Gettin’ Spicy, Entomatadas Style!

Last night’s dinner was a recipe from my favorite new cookbook, one that I’ve already raved about before 🙂

This dish was unique and oh so flavorful, nothing like “conventional Mexican” you think of at a restaurant around our parts of town.

It was one of the best meals we’ve had at home, so different from anything to ever grace our table.

The Man raved.  As did I. 

So let’s get to it, shall we?

Entomatadas

According to Diana Kennedy, this literally means tortillas bathed in a tomato sauce.

Sign me up.  Effective immediately 😉

Note that I did not follow the recipe to a tee, partially because I did not have all of the exact ingredients it called for and partially because I tried to lighten it up slightly.

First you need to make the spicy tomato sauce:

  • chopped tomatoes (3/4 box)
  • onion, sliced thin
  • garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 scotch bonnet pepper, toasted
  • 1 tblsp olive oil

The recipe called for chiles de agua, or jalapenos, neither of which I had.  But I did have this fabulous scotch bonnet, which lent the perfect amount of heat and such great toasty spicy flavor – the kind of heat that lasts only for a minute but doesn’t linger for hours.  Adore these 🙂

I toasted it in a scorchin’ hot pan for a few minutes to bring out the flavor.  Then only used half, this lil’ guy packs some serious punch! 😛

 It also called for epazote, which I’ve never seen nor used.  I’ve read that it’s an “acquired taste” so you know that I’m curious though… maybe next time?

Next, cook the onions in olive oil over medium heat until translucent.  Add in the garlic towards the end, you don’t want it to burn. 

Take these off the heat and proceed with making the sauce.  Pull out your trusty blender and combine the onions, garlic, toasted pepper and tomatoes.

Whizz around until a puree forms (to avoid any blender explosion mishaps I let the onions/garlic cool for a few before doing this).

Amazing color.  Amazing flavor.  Ah this was SO GOOD!

Alright now you’re ready to get to the tortillas, I used flour although technically I should have used corn.  Oh well, it’s what I had stashed away in the freezer!

Dunk the tortilla in the sauce.

The recipe calls for “frying” the tortilla for a few minutes in some oil, go ahead and try that if you’d like but I skipped this step (shame on me) for the sake of making this dish a bit on the lighter side.

Slather it around a bit, covering both sides.

Then fold this bad boy in half, then in half again (I spooned some sauce onto the top of the tortilla before doing this so it had a thick “filling”)

Here’s your finished product!

How pretty are these?  I mean seriously.

The suggested serving was with some sliced onion and queso frescoHave you ever had queso fresco before?

I’m sure I have, however I’ve never used it in cooking at home.  That’s about to change.  This cheese rocks!

It’s has a creamy consistency and a very mild flavor – I’d say kind of like a hybrid between feta & ricotta maybe?  But who am I… 

Either way, it worked perfectly to balance the heat of the spicy tomato sauce.

So. Good.

This dish tasted like nothing I’ve ever had before.  The texture was spot on with the tomato soaked tortillas and the spicy sauce with the tangy onions and the creamy cheese was seriously like heaven. 

If you have the time, I highly suggest cooking up some shrimp to go with this dish.  They match perfectly with the tomato sauce & cheese – we ended up taking bites with both the shrimp & entomatada on the fork and it was awesome 🙂

Simply coated with chili powder, cumin and black pepper then cooked in some olive oil until done.

Of course the meal wouldn’t be complete without our greens too!

Salad for two.

What a perfect Monday night Mexican feast.

This dish has left me yearning to try more authentic recipes from Oaxaca al Gusto… guess you know what you’ll be seeing in the near future 😉 

HAPPY TUESDAY!

2 responses to “Gettin’ Spicy, Entomatadas Style!

  1. Wow! That is such a fun Mexican dish. I’ve totally never heard of it before. But I love tomato sauce (especially one with a kick) and tortillas. So, winner winner! I love all of the experimenting you do in the kitchen!

  2. YUM! I’ve never heard of that before, but it looks and sounds like a winner! And I don’t know if I have had that cheese before, but as a cheese LOVAH I will definitely look out for that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

