Comfort Food at its Finest

Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup.

Made with homemade chicken stock.

And fresh pumpkin pasta from the Farmer’s Market.

What could make a stormy, dreary and tornado filled (??) Wednesday night any better?

The Man was so excited about this dinner that he even played the role of sous chef.  No complaints here 🙂

1.  Homemade chicken stock.

 

I make this in big batches on the weekend when I have the time.  Canned/boxed stock just doesn’t compare – although a quality brand is good is you’re in a pinch.  I have a full stash of this in my freezer after Sunday night’s stock-making adventure.  Life is good 😉

2.  Chicken thighs. 

The flavor of chicken thighs is preferable in a soup like this, for me at least.  Adds such a rich flavor.  But who am I, use whatever chicken you like 😛

I simply poached the chicken in the stock for about 10 minutes until done, then shredded w/ 2 forks.  These Whole Foods chicken thighs were on the bone, which meant they were super moist & flavorful.

3. Gather up your veggies and give them a chop – we went for small pieces for faster cooking time.

Here we have onion, celery, carrot and garlic plus sea salt and black pepper.

Add the veggies to the pot with a few spoonfuls of the stock.

Salt and pepper too.

4.  Back in go the chicken stock and shredded chicken

Cover and let simmer over medium-low for 40 minutes, or until the veggies are tender.

5.  During the last 5 minutes, add in the fresh pasta.

This was pumpkin pasta that I picked up at the Farmer’s Market and it was just perfect in this soup.

See?

Slurp it up and enjoy.

This soup will cure any Wednesday-night blues… trust me 😛

What’s your go-to comfort food for a stormy, dreary night?

Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

  • approximately 5 cups chicken stock (see recipe below)
  • chicken, I used 4 small chicken thighs w/ bone
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • pasta, I used a long, fresh pumpkin pasta
  • salt
  • black pepper

1.  If your stock is frozen, heat up to liquid.  Add in the chicken and simmer about 10 minutes until done.  Remove chicken from pot, shred using the 2-fork method.  Also remove stock and set aside.

2.  Chop veggies and add to the pot w/ a few spoonfuls of the chicken stock plus some salt/pepper.  Let these cook over medium for about 5 minutes until they begin to soften.

3.  Add the chicken stock and shredded chicken into the pot and stir, cover and turn down to medium-low for about 40 minutes.  You want it to stay at a low simmer this whole time so the veggies will get really tender.  Add some water if you need additional liquid.

4.  Now add in the pasta, which takes only 2-3 minutes to cook if it’s fresh.  If you’re using dried pasta just go by the directions on the box – or pre-cook it in a seperate pot then add.

5.  Serve with some additional fresh cracked black pepper on top.  Enjoy!

Homemade Chicken Stock

NOTE:  You can really throw any flavors you want into this, it’s so versatile.  This is my go-to version and works really well.  Also, when I cook up a whole chicken I take the remaining bones and place them in the freezer.  This will keep for quite some time until you are ready to make your stock!

  • bones from a cooked chicken
  • 2 onions, peeled & quartered
  • 3 stalks celery, cut into large pieces
  • 2 carrots, cut into large pieces
  • fresh thyme
  • sea salt
  • black pepper
  • water to cover

Place all of the ingredients into a large stock pot, make sure there is enough water in there to cover the chicken.  Bring to a rolling boil then turn down to a simmer and cover.  Let this go on the stove for about 2 hours, stirring every 30 minutes or so. 

Once the stock is done, I like to use ice cube trays to freeze into convenient go-to portions.  So easy!  Just make sure you tell your significant other or roomates that there’s chicken stock in the ice cube trays, otherwise they may be in for a surprise when they have their next cold beverage 😉

9 responses to “Comfort Food at its Finest

  1. YES! I think I said this before but soup, stew or chili is the perfect fall food…especially on dreary nights. Yours looks amazing. pumpkin pasta? I am jealous! What a great meal

    • You are definitely the chili/soup/stew queen (second to the baking queen of course!) – you always have such great ideas for both meat eaters and meat free!

  2. I’ve always wanted to make my own chicken noodle soup. My Grandma had an amazing recip that I cannot find and it kills me!
    My go-to cold comfort food on a chilly night is a sloppy joe…sooooo weird, I know! lol

  3. Pumpkin pasta incorporated into homemade chicken noodle soup? Oh lady, that’s one pot of goods eats if you ask me. I’d say it’s kicked up comfort food. 🙂

  4. Pumpkin pasta?! That sounds incredible! Two of my favorite things, pumpkin and pasta. That soup looks fantastic!

  5. Pumpkin pasta?! Um, heck yeah! 🙂 What a great idea to make a comfort food on a nasty and stormy day. It’s not stormy here today but dreary, and I’m cravin’ some chili! Chili is my fave comfort food, for sure.

  6. I need get my hands on some pumpkin pasta! I’ve never even heard of that. This looks like such a comforting soup, yum.

  7. Sweet and Fit

    homemade chicken stock??!?! now, that is amazing comfort food =)

Leave a Reply

