It’s Fridayyyy!

Ahhhh it’s finally Friday!!!! 😀

And after a full week of work busy-ness and evenings full of activities, I was very excited about having nothing on the agenda for tonight… anyone else ever feel like that?

Well, except for a relaxing night in with some good food, tasty wine, a movie and a hot date 😉

Why hello Lucy Dog, haha, don’t mind if you do.

Pajamas in the kitchen?!?!

Sure thing… anything flies around here on the weekend! 😛

Okay on to the dinner mission:  his (Italian) & hers (Mexican) dinner salads.

Start with the “salad base”

Romaine, tomato, onion, salt & pepper

Then add the protein

Italian chicken was seasoned w/ dried oregano, basil, salt and pepper.

Mexican chicken w/ mesquite seasoning and pepper.

Then cooked stovetop until done.

Plus the cheese

 

I am having a serious love affair with this queso fresco, I’m not even kidding.

Throw on some homemade croutons if ya like!

I stash bread in the freezer if we don’t use it in time, perfect for situations like this.  One slice of baguette cubed then drizzled with olive oil and seasoned with dried oregano, basil and black pepper.  Into a 375F oven for 8 minutes or so until crisp.

Now get ready to assemble!

His:

Romaine, tomatoes, onion, Italian chicken, queso fresco, homemade croutons and a dressing made of these:

White balsamic vinegar + olive oil = magnificent!

If you’ve never tried white balsamic vinegar before I highly recommend it 🙂  It’s one of our favorite ways to dress a salad, the flavor is spot on.

Hers:

Romaine, tomatoes, onion, mesquite chicken, queso fresco, corn & salsa.

Both salads got rave reviews from the diners! 😉 

Such a fresh, healthy way to start the weekend too…. not to mention minimal dishes to wash which is great right now considering our dishwasher decided to break?!?!

Anywho, that’s another story now isn’t it…. 😛

So I’ll leave you with this:

Can I even tell you how excited I am about this?!?!  I’m thinking tamales… asap 😉

Stay tuned!  Tomorrow we have a trip to the last seasonal farmer’s market and the Mexican grocer (I’m serious about these tamales!)

3 responses to “It’s Fridayyyy!

  1. Can I just tell you- Josh and I stayed in and had salads tonight too. And we watched old Glee episodes- fantastic Friday night in my opinion!

  2. Jean@RoastedRootsandPumpkinSpice

    I think I’m in my PJ’s in my kitchen most of the time haha. The salads look delicious! I especially like the Mexican one a lot. Mmmm, mesquite seasoning.

  3. I JUST got a bamboo steamer!! How fun! are you using it for tamales!?…I’ll be sure to check back and see! have a great weekend!
    xoxo!

Leave a Reply

