Barbecue Sauce Heaven

Happy Monday night all! 

Two posts in one day, what’s going on here?

Call me overly ambitious today I suppose 😉

So remember the Mexican barbecue sauce from earlier, with those wonderful pasilla and guajillo chilis? 

Well tonight I got to work on putting it in meal-action after work (and a visit to the eye doctor, boooo!)

First I “fried” the sauce in a tablespoon of olive oil for a few minutes over medium-high heat.

This completely changed the smell/taste of the sauce!  I’m thinking that frying the sauce is meant to soften/change the flavors of the raw onion and garlic, but I could be wrong?  Anyone else know about this technique?

After this step I set the sauce in the fridge to cool for about 10 minutes, then marinated some pork in it for about 15 minutes.

Onto the stovetop over medium heat and cooked until done.

To go with our pork we had some baked sweet taters topped w/ butter & cinnamon (so fall of us huh? 😉 )

And a fresh salad, just can’t get enough of those greens!

Ever tried Bibb lettuce?  Love the stuff.

Verdict on the dinner…?  The sauce was fantastic!

I need to make up a big batch of this and stash some away in the freezer to have on hand.  It put bottled barbecue sauce to shame.  The flavor of the chipotle en adobo really gave it a great smokey edge and all the other flavors just blended perfectly 🙂

A great dinner after a really long day!

And before I go I have to tell ya’ll about our adventure last night at our local comedy club!  We went to see John Henton aka “Overton” from the tv show Living Single…

Anyone else watch this show back in the 90’s?? I used to love it! 

John was HILARIOUS and it was seriously such a great way to spend a Sunday night (don’t worry, we left goodies out for the trick-or-treaters!) 😛

So with that, I have to ask, who’s the best comedian you’ve seen perform or the one that you’d love to see perform someday?

I love Ron White from Blue Collar Comedy Tour!  I think he his outta control ridiculous and would definitely love to see him perform in person!

And this time, seriously, before I go…

Cookinfanatic has finally joined Facebook!!  Let’s be friends, why don’t we 😀

Spicy Barbecue Sauce

  • 3 guallijo chilis, seeds removed
  • 2 pasilla chilis, seeds removed
  • 2 chipotle en adobo
  • 1 thick slice onion, roughly chopped
  • 1 tomato, roughly chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 3 cloves, crushed
  • black pepper
  • 1 tsp sugar
  •  few teaspoons white balsamic vinegar
  • water

Soak guajillo and pasilla chilis in hot water for 20 minutes until softened.  Add all ingredients to a blender and blend until smooth.  Easy and delicious!

5 responses to “Barbecue Sauce Heaven

  1. Oh man that BBQ sauce sounds SO good. The hubs loves a good spicier sauce too. And holy crap Living Single?! I used to LOVE that show! I didn’t know anyone else actually watched it!
    I must admit, I am a comedy kind of gal. Comedies are my fave type of movie and I love watching stand up. My favorite so far has definitely been Daniel Tosh that I’ve seen live. I have seen Kevin Hart’s and Nick Swardson’s stand up on Comedy Central and would LOVE LOVE to see both of them in person!

  2. Hey chicky 🙂 Way to put that sauce to use. Looks fabulous. I would have thrown it on top of the sweet potato too. I love boston bibb- it makes such great wraps. Obviously, I’m with Mandi- Tosh rocked!

  3. I love comedy shows as well but don’t go nearly enough. It’s such a great way to relax and just laugh all night.
    Oh and this weekend I finally created FB pages for my blogs as well. Check them out if you have a minute. I’m looking for FB friends 😉 (can’t access FB from work so check out the link on my blog if you like).
    Last thing- I’m hosting an awesome giveaway for a coffee maker. Check it out if you’re interested! 😀

  4. The only famous comedian I’ve ever seen is Dane Cook and I really enjoyed it. He’s vulgar, but still quite funny.
    Bibb lettuce is my jam! Is so soft and juicy!

  5. I’d love this sauce. I’m always craving something spicy and most things just don’t have enough kick to them. This, on the other hand, sounds perfect. By the way, I’m holding a CSN giveaway on my blog and you’re welcome to come by and enter. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2010/11/45-csn-giveaway.html

Leave a Reply

