Spicy Pumpkin & White Bean “Stoup”

After tweeting earlier today about potential dinner recipe ideas using pumpkin, my girl Brandi knew just what direction I was headed in…

It’s like she was reading my foodie mind? 

Rainy cold weather = warm comforting soup weather if you ask me, no? 😛

So of course, I must deliver!

Spicy Pumpkin & White Bean “SToup”

I think Rachel Ray would call this a “stoup” – a bit thicker than a soup but not as thick as a stew.  At least I think that’s what she means?

Anywho, here’s the lineup:

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 hot pepper, seeds removed & chopped (I used a scotch bonnet)
  • 1 cup chicken stock (homemade if you have it or use veg stock if you desire)
  • 1 can Northern beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 can Libby’s pumpkin
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tblsp olive oil
  • fresh chives
  • sea salt
  • black pepper

Makes 2 main dish servings.

Cook onions, garlic and hot pepper over medium in olive oil until tender (about 7 minutes).  Keep the lid on so that they steam and don’t brown.  Salt and pepper too.

Then add the pumpkin, chicken stock, beans, water and chives (and some more salt/pepper if you like).  Bring to a boil.

Give it a stir and turn down to medium, allow to simmer for about 30 minutes (uncovered) until it thickens up a bit.

At this point, grab a fork and squish up some of the beans.  This will give the soup a very creamy consistency. 

This step is very important, as the stoup won’t achieve its creamy consistency otherwise.  Please don’t forget it! 😛

Also add in your coconut milk, it adds the best hint of sweetness.  Stir it up and let it heat on low, covered, for another 10 minutes or so.

Now serve!

So buttery and creamy.  Yet no butter or cream in sight.  Miracles can happen, right? 😉

I loved these flavors, it turned out much much better than I had thought it up in my mind!  For that, I’m always thankful 😀

This meal has seriously like 2 steps.  And requires minimal time.  Perfect for a busy weeknight meal.

And the creamy, buttery fall flavors with a touch of the tropics will turn any rainy night into a sunny morning.

Well… we’ll wait to see about that 😉

5 responses to “Spicy Pumpkin & White Bean “Stoup”

  1. YUM! I made something similar last fall and was obsessed. The pumpkin adds just the right amount of…creaminess? I dunno- but it is awesome. Happy Friday!

  2. yum! it looks awesome! 🙂

  3. MMMMMM I love pumpkin soup and I particularly am into Rachel Ray’s STOUP’s! I remember that episode when she talked about that, she’s pretty funny.

  4. I love saying the word “stoup” for some reason! This looks awesome, like everything you make always does. 🙂 Happy Friday!

  5. this really looks awesome.. thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

