Sunday morning thoughts

This morning I woke up with thoughts of fresh, homemade bread on the mind.

Because that’s a completely normal Sunday 8am thought while laying in bed, right?

I have issues.  Clearly.

So I set out on a bread mission.  A Cinnamon Sugar Swirl and Honey Whole Wheat bread mission to be more specific.

Luckily I found this 2-in-1 recipe which perfectly fit the bill.

And if you know much about (1) me and (2) baking you’ll know that (1) I hate to follow recipes and (2) in baking, measurements must be exact and deviations aren’t exactly encouraged.

So with that being said, I went against my “inner fanatic” and pretty much followed this recipe to a tee.  Well except used only 5 cups flour, since the dough seemed ready at that point.  Probably because I only had 1/4 cup honey vs. 1/3 cup… but who’s counting 😉

I think my biceps were sufficiently worked during this task.  Phew!

One honey whole wheat.  One cinnamon sugar swirl (honey whole wheat).

One’s true patience is learned during baking…?

At least that’s what I think.  Waiting for this to rise was way harder than it should have been haha! 😛

And finally, we’re done.

Still freshly warm from the oven… 

Ooooey goooey buttery cinnamon sugar goodness.

I wanted to bottle up the smell in the kitchen to save for later.

But guess I’ll have to savor the taste instead 😉  Which, by the way, was delicious.

I’m not a very seasoned baker if you will, I mostly stick to cooking when it comes to kitchen escapades.  But sometimes a girl just gets an urge to bake…

That’s where recipes like this one come into play.  And I thought this was a great one.  Easy to follow and a great experience.  Plus a scrumptious final product to show for it all!

Fresh cinnamon swirl and honey whole wheat bread waiting for me on the counter.  Ahhh life is good.

I see a grilled cheese & soup dinner in our near future… 

Perfect for the early nightfall and cold temps that mean Fall is officially here 😀

Night all!

7 responses to “Sunday morning thoughts

  1. owwwwwwwww that looks awesome! I love cinnamon swirl bread. Way to follow that recipe gfriend. And the smell of anything cinnamon like baking is heavenly. Sunday night already? When did this happen?

  2. cookeatburn

    I wake up thinking of random things I want to make a lot so it’s not just you ;). I don’t mind but the only thing is I am a little freaked out about how bad it could get if/whenever I get pregnant!

  3. that bread looks amazing!!!!!!! send a loaf to me will ya!? 😉

  4. Ahhh! I want some of that bread, stat! Looks amazing, nice work. 🙂

  5. lowandbhold

    Wow, that looks super good! I’m not much of a baker either but I LOVE fresh bread. Mmmm.

  6. Bread looks great! And bread is not an easy thing to bake, LOL !!!! Hope all is well!!

Leave a Reply

