New Ingredient (to me)!

So here we are, another Monday has come and gone…

And I’m completely okay with that, how about you? 😛

Plus what’s more fun than ending a Monday with a new adventure in the kitchen?  Or maybe that’s just me… 😉

Enter:  HOMINY

Ever heard of it?  Eaten it?  Cooked with it?

I can answer yes to most likely one of the above.  Maybe two.  Definitely not three.

Well not until tonight that is!

The “trifecta”

Pinto beans, hominy and diced tomatoes.

Probably wondering where I’m going with all this aren’t ya?  Welcome to a day in my head…

Just kidding.

Sort of.

After a bit of research on the internets I found a recipe that hominy is commonly used in. 

Posole.  Pozole.  Pozsole.  Pozolli. 

However you want to say, it sounded delicious!

But there was one hitch in my plan.  The classic posole is usually made with meat, and I didn’t have any pork or chicken on hand.

Lucky for me I got my hands on some vegetarian versions of this dish, which I in turn made into my own!

NOTE:  This version is not quite vegetarian as I used chicken stock in the liquid of the stew.

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped  
  • 6 cups liquid, I used 3c. chicken stock + 3c. water
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (wish I had my favorite Pomi boxed instead!)
  • 1 can pinto beans, drained & rinsed
  • 1 can hominy, drained and rinsed
  • 1 tsp. oregano (I used Mexican oregano)
  • Salt/Pepper
  • 2 guajillo chiles, soaked & seeds removed
  • 1 arbol chile, soaked

First I got started on prepping the chiles, which I have an abundance of after a recent trip to the Mexican market.  Simply soaked them in some hot water for about 20 minutes until they were soft and pliable. 

Meanwhile I got to cooking the onion & garlic.

Then added the chicken stock, which I luckily had more of the homemade batch stashed away in the freezer.  I usually freeze in ice cubes, but had set this large amount aside knowing it was the perfect amount for a soup!

As well as the tomatoes, beans, hominy, salt /pepper and oregano.  Brought up to a boil

Then turned down to medium to simmer for about 30 minutes until the liquid evaporated a bit and the soup was the consistency that I wanted.

The very last step was to add in the chiles, which after soaking I simply pureed in the blender with a bit of the soup liquid.

Check out all those delicious veggie & bean chunks!

The final product:

Yummy and comforting!  I really enjoyed the flavor and texture of the hominy.  It’s soft & almost chewy, not like “regular corn” that you are used to. 

Plus, I love cooking with dried chiles, and I will tell you that it’s no where near as intimidating as it looks.  If you are looking to really explore some different culinary avenues in your kitchen I would highly recommend taking this route.

The flavors from these chiles are like none other that you’ve probably created at home.  Or maybe even eaten out.  But they are soooo good.  So so good 😀

Warm & comforting soup on a chilly, frosty Monday night definitely makes the start to the week more bearable.  Am I right or am I right? 😉

6 responses to “New Ingredient (to me)!

  1. I’ve never seen hominy in the stores, but have heard of it used in Mexican soups. Looks delicious!

  2. Try the dried pozole. Soak it overnight like beans. Then cook. (Canned beans are fast, but going from dried is best.)

    Read yer Diana Kennedy.

    • Agreed, going from dried is definitely the best! I like to prep dried beans ahead of time for later use but unfortunately I hadn’t planned this one ahead of time so I took the short cut route. Next time I will take your suggestion and try the dried hominy & beans though, thanks!

  3. I’ve never seen or heard of hominy, but your soup looks so good I might have to try your recipe. I love making soups, especially with winter on the way.

  4. I’ve definitely heard of hominy (after all, hominy grill is one of the more famous restaurants in Charleston), but I’ve never had it. Looks like a great dish with simple flavors- and I love that you made an ALMOST vegetarian version. Beautiful work

  5. Never heard of hominy, but I have to say, I’m so impressed with the dishes you’ve been whipping up as of late! Can you come and cook for me one of these nights please? 🙂

Leave a Reply

