Joyous Day!

Today was a joyous day!

Why you ask?

Because I finally took the DSLR plunge! 😀

So naturally I spent a portion of the early evening playing with said DSLR and showing off my embarrassing stash of dried chile peppers…

Love.

And harassing Lucy Dog…

Mom, what are you doingggggg?!?!

I have so much to learn about this new camera but I’m so excited about it all!! 

Until then I’ll be sticking with the basic modes while I fine tune my skill 😛

So after a few short hours of camera play, it was time to head to an engagement party for one of my best friends.  Her and her fiancé are getting married in the spring and I’ll be in the wedding – love them both!

I also decided to be brave and bring the new camera to the party for some practice… I mean I couldn’t look that strange taking pics of all the food right? 😉

The party had a New Orleans theme, since that’s where the groom-to-be is from. 

The Main Dish:  Jambalaya (!!)

Served with a sweet spinach salad topped w/ cranberries

Plus a side of black beans w/ tomatillo salsa topping.

What a fabulous menu!  Everything was deeeeelish 🙂

Especially my dessert of choice, carrot cake cupcakes!  So so so good.  The frosting was too die for.

What a fun night! 

Now its off to relax before bed, busy day again tomorrow and a brand new camera to capture it all 🙂

4 responses to “Joyous Day!

  1. awwwwwwwwwwww ! I am soo sooo jealous. After photographing our party tonight…I really want one. Cute pic of you dancing around 😉 The party food looks great. Enjoy the rest of the weekend

  2. So excited that you got a DSLR – you’re going to LOVE it. 😉

  3. YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love it! So excited for you!

Leave a Reply

