Who Stole My Boyfriend?

Upon my arrival home to Richmond this afternoon I got right to work on finding out what The Man’s birthday dinner request would be…

And you’ll never even believe what happened next?!

Garden Salad topped w/ Chicken & Homemade Croutons

A salad?  Topped with chicken?  Of all choices for a birthday dinner?  Ummmm who stole my boyfriend haha? 😛

Either someone is getting used to “eating their vegetables” and was craving some fresh flavors & vitamins after my couple day absence, or else someone was trying to make my night easy after being away from home all week. 

Perhaps a combo of the two? 😉

It still may have been a pretty proud moment, just sayin’

So some vino was cracked, obviously

 

And a fast, fresh & easy birthday dinner was prepared.

P.S.  This wine was an easy crisp & cool sip, perfect to pair with the fresh flavors of a salad!

The Man went to Whole Foods with me to pick up the ingredients for dinner.  I was pretty excited about that because this never happens 😉

He picked out this salad dressing which I based the meal around:

I used this not only as a salad topper, but also as a marinade for some fresh chicken tenders which I later cooked up stovetop.

We watched a movie and took it easy while the chicken did its thing in the fridge, then it was time to prep this easy dinner!

Lettuce, cucumber, tomato and onion.

The Man doesn’t like cucumber peel, so I decided to get a little fancy and all that 😛

Vegetable peelers work miracles, no?

Veggie dice.

Some sea salt and black pepper completed this part of the meal.

Then I got to work on the homemade croutons.  These are the key to a great make-at-home salad in my opinion 🙂

What, you don’t stash the ends of bread in your freezer for later use?  Trust me, it’s worth it.

Salt, pepper, oregano and olive oil.  Baked at 350F for about 7-8 minutes until crisp and starting to brown.

So delicious.  So so delicious.

A serve yourself salad bar!  Complete with veggies, homemade croutons and marinated chicken, which I cooked stovetop and sliced once done.

This salad hit the spot.  And I think the birthday boy was happy 😀

And now if you’ll excuse me, I have my two favorites to snuggle up with! (The Man and Lucy Dog 🙂 )

This is the first night we’ve had nothing on the agenda since last Friday and it feels nice to just take it easy!

Plus we have some fun birthday plans for tomorrow night, so see ya then 😀

14 responses to “Who Stole My Boyfriend?

  1. That salad looks delicious. Love the homemade croutons. My husband would never request a salad. If he ever did, I would know that aliens had taken over his body! 🙂

  2. This is so just what I needed for some salad inspiration! I like salads once they are actually prepped and in front of me but for some reason doing the actual prep just seems like so. much. work. Silly, I know, but that’s how I feel. 🙂

    • They are definitely so much easier if all chopped/prepped, agreed! I took a shortcut tonight by buying the lettuce already chopped so at least that made it easier 🙂

  3. Can’t wait to be home tomorrow 🙂 🙂 It’s been way too long

    love you so much!
    xoxo

  4. Your pictures look GREAT!!

  5. Your pics are making me crave a salad 🙂

  6. What an awesome request! And very cool that he went to WFs with you to get the ingredients. Distances makes the heart grow fonder, right? Homemade croutons always kick up a salad- beautiful work

  7. mrsfattypants

    I’ve never made croutons! I’m going to have to try! They look amazing!!!!

  8. Fresh homemade croutons are the best! Yummy birthday request… It’s like something I’d want. I bet he missed all the fresh crunchy veggies.

  9. lowandbhold

    That’s awesome! My boyfriend has never eaten a salad in my presence haha.
    The wine sounds great, I’ll have to look for it!

  10. Now, that’s a simple but delicious salad.

Leave a Reply

