Back to Oaxaca

A whole day with nothing planned?  It’s been a while since I’ve seen one of these!

In case you missed the weekend’s birthday shannigans:

It. Felt. So. Good.

I spent the day grocery shopping, getting in a much-needed workout and leisurely creating some delicious foods in the kitchen 🙂

Ahhhh I’ve missed this…

So since I’m pretty much going through Mexican food withdrawals I knew it was time to get back to some real authentic, hearty Mexican dishes this week.

Diana Kennedy – you are my hero.

On tonight’s dinner menu (from Oaxaca al Gusto):  Puerco frito en tomate rojo (pork fried in tomato sauce) served w/ a chile de arbol sauce and roasted garlic potatoes.

Salsa de Chile de Arbol

During the afternoon I made up this spicy sauce, a simple blend of tomatillos, chiles de arbol, garlic and sea salt.

Christmas colors? 😀

Have you ever cooked with tomatillos?  I love them!

They have a sort of sour flavor I think, but are great in green sauces such as this.

Don’t confuse it with a green tomato though, they are not the same.

The final product.

The chiles de arbol pack the perfect amount of heat.  Love how they give a lil’ spicy punch which then cools almost immediately!

Puerco Frito en Tomate Rojo

Pork Fried in Tomato Sauce

I didn’t really “fry” this dish but did use a little bit of fat to give it some great flavor.

The tomato sauce.

Fresh tomato and poblano.

Under a hot broiler until charred.

The skin of the tomatoes will peel right off.  The poblano needs to be placed into a ziploc bag for about 15 minutes to steam so that the skin peels off easily.

Blended until smooth.

This sauce had an amazing flavor which got even better once it was cooked with the pork!

Speaking of, I had the butcher at Whole Foods slice these boneless pork ribs for me today.  I love how they will do that for you there.

I’ve never cooked with any kind of pork ribs so I knew this would be an adventure.  Thankfully it turned out to be an amazing one!

Boiled in seasoned water.

And in case you’re wondering, Mexican oregano does not have the same flavor as “traditional” oregano.  I adore this stuff, totally addicted.

Then cooked in the tomato sauce prepared above until the pork was just fall apart tender.  I added about 1/2 tablespoon of bacon fat for flavor as well.

This dish was simply amazing.  The sauce was so so so fresh tasting and the meat so moist, juicy and tender.

With some chile de arbol sauce to top for a lil’ kick 😉

The Man and I both “mmm’ed” our way through this dish.  Another winner from the best cookbook EVER!

Roasted Garlic Potatoes

As a side dish I simply roasted some baking potatoes with olive oil, garlic, sea salt, black pepper and a touch of H2O.

350F for 45 minutes, covered with foil and flipped once during cooking, and you will have the perfect potato.

I always thought that baking potatoes (russet potatoes) would dry out when roasted.  Not so – at least using this method.

The Man proclaimed this to be the only roasted potato that was so moist that it needed nothing (i.e. dipping sauce).

Yum!

Perfect Sunday night meal 😀

Now really, Monday already….?

2 responses to “Back to Oaxaca

  1. I love how every element of your meal was so homemade. Such a cook 🙂 Great final product. I made roasted potatoes yesterday morning- forgot how good those suckers are!

  2. Your whole meal looks great. The roasted garlic potatoes look yummy. I don’t really roast potatoes too often, but your picture makes me want them right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

