What to do…?

Check out CookinFanatic’s holiday weekend so far, you know, just in case you just haven’t had enough of Thanksgiving already 😉

So what to do with all this leftover turkey from the holiday?!?!

Well first of all, don’t throw away those turkey bones!  I may have slightly startled The Man’s mom the other night when I excitedly requested to bring home the “turkey carcass” haha 😛

But trust me, this is well worth it.  It makes the most phenomenal stock which then turns into a most amazing soup!

I made my turkey stock the exact same way that I make my chicken stock:  onion, carrot, celery, thyme and parsley.

Into a stock pot topped with the turkey bones and enough water to cover.  Some salt & pepper too.

Then I let this cook over medium (at a low boil) for about 1.5 hours, covered, stirring occasionally.

The final product is a piping hot bowl (or two) of delicious!

The next step for this stock was to become a turkey soup!  I was craving macaroni noodles (random?) so I knew that this soup just had to have them 😛

Mirepoix (pronounced meer-pwah):  onion, celery, carrot.

If you watch Emeril then I’m sure you’ve learned this term already! 

I added these veggies plus about 12 oz. of boxed chopped tomatoes into the hot stock and let them simmer for about half an hour until close to tender.

Once the veggies were ready I added in some leftover shredded turkey too.

The last step is to add the pasta – and if you have quirky cravings like me – then macaroni is your guy.

The cool part about this soup – the pasta cooks in the soup liquid and therefore soaks up all that delicious flavor too!

We served up some hearty portions of this soup..

And topped with some freshly grated Parmesan cheese…

I highly recommend doing this 😀

Some bread and butter on the side…

And you’ve got yourself a meal!

You see, turkey leftovers don’t have to be boringggggg 😉

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got some of this on the agenda for tonight

Along with setting up the Christmas tree!!!  Ahhh it’s that time of year again 😀

See ya’ll tomorrow, we’re having a little dinner get together with our “missing Thanksgiving guests” that I know you’ll enjoy!

2 responses to “What to do…?

  1. I’ve strangely been dreaming of that sweet potato casserole 🙂 I must make it! And what a great use of leftovers. Nothing like a nice hot bowl of soup (with bread for dunking) on a chilly night. We may get our tree tonight too….or maybe tomorrow- I can’t wait

  2. I didn’t know that term–I guess I should watch Emeril more often 🙂

Leave a Reply

