Chobani Pasta Salad!

The Christmas tree is up!!!

And the dining room is set for a Christmas feast 😉

And I’m ready to share an easy dinner with all of you featuring one of my favorite things ever 🙂

Chobani Greek yogurt!!!

Do you not love this stuff? 

 Not only do I love the flavored ones straight up (hellllloooo pineapple lovahhhh) but also using the plain as a substitute for items such as mayo or sour cream!

And with 18g of protein, it’s a pretty great swap 😉

Don’t ya think?

So tonight I added some plain Chobani to the mix of a classic macaroni salad to come up with a low-fat, high protein version of everyone’s (or maybe just my?) favorite pasta salad!

And so what if it’s not summer anymore, this is good anytime of year IMO 😛

Italian Macaroni Salad w/ Greek Yogurt Dressing

  • macaroni noodles (about 1/3 of a large 32 oz. box), cooked & cooled
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 3 roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 can black olives, halved
  • pepperoni, quartered
  • cheddar cheese, cubed (about 2/3 package)
  • pepperjack cheese, cubed (about 1/4 package)

Dressing

  • 1 container Chobani plain yogurt
  • juice from 1/2 a lemon
  • 5 tblsp white balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tblsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tblsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tblsp dried basil
  • sea salt & black pepper to taste

This pasta salad comes together in 1-2-3!!

While the macaroni is boiling (according to directions) get all the other salad ingredients ready to go.

Chop the veggies.

Christmas colors!  Don’t tell me you weren’t thinking it too 😉

And prep the pepperoni & cheese.

Once the pasta is done cooking, drain and rinse under cold water until the pasta is cool.  Add to a large bowl along with the chopped veggies…

and the pepperoni & cheese.

Lookin’ good already!

At this point, pop the pasta salad in the fridge to chill while you mix up the dressing.

This dressing couldn’t be easier. And instead of being full of heavy calorie-dense mayo, it’s made creamy by the addition of the smooth & rich Greek yogurt. 

Just combine the ingredients above and give it a stir!

You will be amazed at how creamy & delicious this turns out without any mayo what-so-ever 😀

When you’re ready to serve, lightly stir the pasta salad with the dressing until the combined. 

And into the bowl it goes!

Mmmmm mmmm, this turned out great! 

I was curious to see how The Man would react to his “yogurt pasta salad” but let’s just say he had seconds and I got just a few compliments 😉  Love that he has such an open mind to trying these new combos and love even more how much he also enjoys them!

So there you go, a healthy undercover way to prepare a delicious pasta salad classic!  Even though it may not be 80 degrees outside where you are (or where I am!), I hope you’ll give this salad a try 🙂

5 responses to “Chobani Pasta Salad!

  1. Ok so both Josh and I are Chobani OBSESSED….and Josh doesn’t like pasta salad due to the mayo (I really don’t either)….I totally think I can get him to eat and enjoy this. Fabulous idea. And hooray for the tree!

  2. Beautiful Christmas tree. Love the pasta salad recipe!

  3. Your tree is BEAUTIFUL!!! Ahhh….there is just something about getting the tree put up and lit, right? Just makes me so happy. 🙂

    I ❤ Chobani….I need to use it in cooking more! I eat it mostly for dessert. 😉 Pineapple pleeeeease.

  4. Yayyy for the tree!! I get so dang excited once the tree is up =) and that macaroni salad looks AWESOME. I may be bookmarking this one =) OH, and YES, I’m from VA, I just read your About Me page and looks like we may have a lot in common =) We actually looked in Richmond a little for jobs when we were moving, but ended up in SC. We did live in VA Beach for a couple of yars. I’m also a number cruncher – financial analyst I think is the technical term (if that’s even a technical term). And we have a CRAZY energetic black lab as well…Aptly named Marley. And, I TOTALLY share your affinity of white wine! OMG, give me a light crisp riesling and I’m in heavennnn! =)

  5. Cakegoddess

    Thanks for posting these wonderful recipes. I was looking for a pasta salad that everyone would like- husband, 8 yr old boy, 7 year old boy, 3 yr old girl, and 14 yr old girl. i can’t wait to try it this week and look over the rest of your recipes. I am always looking for recipes with lots of veggies but without too many “gourmet” ingredients which will be rejected.

Leave a Reply

