Omelets & Traveling Yoga, typical Tuesday?

After a long day at work I was in the mood for a nice n’ easy dinner!  Plus we’re about to get some crazy summer-like thunderstorms apparently (confused weather much?), so I wanted to be cozied up on the couch by the time that happened 🙂

So I turned to the incredible egg!

Eggs are such a great protein source to incorporate into a weekly menu.  They are nutritious, economical and can be so versatile! 

Tonight’s Mexican inspired egg menu included:

  • Fresh side salad
  • Egg omelet w/ veggies & queso fresco
  • Caramelized plantain w/ vanilla ice cream

Step 1:  Salad chop.

Romaine, cucumber, tomato & onion.  Sea salt & pepper.

Step 2:  Omelet

More veggie chopping.

Then a quick saute.

Followed by the addition of 2 eggs + 3 egg whites (let this cook over medium-low, covered).

And then some of my favorite new cheese discovery (!!!)

Queso fresco. 

Love this stuff – it has the saltiness of feta coupled with the creaminess of a mozzarella (that’s my latest comparison at least!)

Served with a salsa topping.

These flavors were a match made in heaven 😀

The omelet kind of browned a bit at the bottom, which gave it the most wonderful flavor!  Then the creamy and salty queso fresco with the salsa… oh yummmm!

Step 3:  Plantain dessert

If you haven’t used plantains in your kitchen yet, I highly recommend giving these a try!  From a savory Chicken & Plantain Stew or Roasted Plantains w/ Chile & Cilantro to tonight’s dessert option, these things can be used in so many ways.

A little butter, cinnamon & cane sugar did the trick

The smells were amazinggggggggg!

Served warm over vanilla ice cream of course 😛

Sweet, warm, creamy… all the things a cool weather dessert should be!

And before I go, for all you Richmond readers (heyyyy!), I wanted to let you know about something new that I tried out the other day, The Traveling Yoga Sisters

A few of the girls at my work and myself had a private lunchtime yoga session with Tracy and we loved it!  Their concept of offering affordable yoga classes at different locations (no studio = no rent = $5 session, we practiced in a karate gym!) is one that definitely caught my attention. 

I was so excited at how much I loved the class!  They not only offer private small group sessions, but also weekly group yoga — and guess what, I’m going back again this weekend 🙂 

Let me know if you’d be interested in joining too!

Have a great night everyone 😛

6 responses to “Omelets & Traveling Yoga, typical Tuesday?

  1. I have brinner at least once a week! Its such a great go to meal. In fact, I had it last night with sweet potatoes, onion & bell pepper! Your dessert looks out of this world good. Any fruit caramelized is yummy

  2. I think I might have breakfast for dinner tonight! Yes, I’ve already been thinking about it. 🙂

    How cool is the Traveling Yoga!? I would totally join you if I lived in your hood’.

  3. I LOVE having eggs when I want something quick and tasty!! Your omelet looks perfect. And those plantains….I’ve only had them once and they are truly out of this world!

  4. That’s a really cool idea! I love yoga, but it can add up and become SO expensive.
    Your dinner looks amazing!

  5. Those plantains look awesome! How long do you cook them for??

    • Unfortunately I was just eyeballing them as I went along and didn’t really time it (I am the worst at that 😦 ) but if I had to guess, I think I did about 7 minutes each side? If you keep an eye on them and take them out once they brown/caramelize on each side then you’ll be good to go! 🙂

Leave a Reply

