Fun with Fritters!

Hello Saturday!!ย  Oh how I do adore you ๐Ÿ™‚

Today I woke up bright & early for a fantastic yoga session followed by a trip to the farmer’s market all topped off with an afternoon of shopping at the Bizarre Bazaarย with Fanatic Mom… really, does it get any better?

I just couldn’t resist these gingerbread men!ย  Plus the fudge sauce, oh the fudge sauce, that I was being fed by the spoonful… *sigh* it. was. so. good.ย  Some mulling spices (great in apple juice) and some holiday earrings too!ย 

After such a hard day shopping ๐Ÿ˜‰ I knew we were in store for an easy dinner, but I definitely wanted a full meal with some fun flavors since I’d been snacking my way through the day.

That’s when the thought of this came to mind…

I’ve been eyeing these bad boys for a few days now and I knew that tonight was the night I was going to take the plunge!

So I got my ingredients together and got to cooking.

Ricotta Fritters served w/ Spring Mix

The star of the show:ย  ricotta cheese.

Mixed with sea salt & black pepper.

Formed into small rounds and stashed away in the fridge for an hour to get nice & chilled.

The breading: wheat flour, egg and panko bread crumbs.

Set ’em out.

And dunk the fritters to coat!ย 

Then into a hot pan with about 3 tblsp olive oil, cooking about 2-3 minutes each side until browned.

Yum yum yum yum!

These were a bit of a splurge in the fat & oil department, however since they acted as the main dish and were dressed up with greens I was A-Okay with it ๐Ÿ˜‰

A simple dressing of balsamic vinegar, olive oil and agave to serve with the fritter topped salad.

And voila!

Dinner. Is. Served.

So pretty.

And delicious too ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

Something about the crunch of a bread crumb topping overflowing with warm gooey cheeseย atop a tangy bed of dressed greens… makes your mouth just water thinking about it doesn’t it?!

Along with our ricotta fritter topped salads we had some shrimp, seasoned with Old Bay of course.

Perfect accompaniment.

And now it’s snowing… ummmm wasn’t it just 65 degrees the other day?

I see a cozy relaxing night with these two hooligans in my future ๐Ÿ˜‰

Please tell me this is normal hahaha.

Probably not as normal as The Man dunking the extra ricotta fritters in ranch dressing… but that’s another story now isn’t it? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Have a great night ya’ll!

6 responses to “Fun with Fritters!

  1. Thanks for trying them! Funny… I used the EXACT same brand ricotta and bread crumbs!

  2. Those fritters look amazing. Ricotta cheese is one of the few cheeses I can eat (aged cheeses give me migraines), so these are perfect.

  3. Those look amazing! I love ricotta! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Aren’t they just amazing! Sabrina is just a genius!

  5. Those look so good. I’ve never though of making frittas with ricotta cheese. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

