It Could Be Worse :)

This recipe is pretty fitting for today considering solid foods aren’t exactly in my near future…

Yes, another wisdom tooth bites the dust.  Youch!

But on a postive note, at least I have this delicious meal to cheer me up.

After all, it could be worse 🙂

I have to put my hands together for my girl Sarah @SavoringSarah for coming up with this meal.

And an even more clever recipe title 😉

Her and I seem to be on the same page with cooking, so I knew that this was going to be a recipe I truly enjoyed 🙂

And guess what, I was totally right!

Spicy Borracho Chili courtesy of @SavoringSarah 

(see Sarah’s site for the exact recipe)

Let’s start with the ingredients shall we?

Dried chiles, onion, garlic, tomatoes, beans, peanuts, chicken broth (need to make another homemade batch soon!) and beer.

Sign me up!

I used 3 guallijo chiles and 1 pasilla chile.  These things are amazing and if you’ve never tried cooking with them you totally should.

I promise they aren’t as intimidating as they seem!

The meat portion of this meal is one of my new obsessions, skinless whole chicken legs.

Weirdo.  You can say it… 😉

They have ruined chicken breast for me.  The flavor is just 1,903,298 times better.  I don’t know how to describe it.

But they do take a little more work.  And by a little more work I mean there is a bone that you must remove the meat from after you’ve poached it in boiling water.

Really not that tough.  And the flavor reward is well worth it.

I blended all the soup ingredients according to the recipe, then combined with the shredded chicken from above as well as half a can of kidney beans.

Why half a can?  Because you-know-who may drive me to the crazy house if he complains about the amount of beans in a dish one more time.

Who doesn’t like beans?  I mean seriously… it’s a constant game of hide-the-beans in this house LOL.

Oh well, it could be worse 😉

I let this simmer, covered, for about an hour while I got my exercise on.  Mmmmm flavorsssssss.

Now in goes the most important ingredient of course 😛

Cerveza!!!!

Half of this Corona 22.  Who buys 22’s of Corona?  This girl. 

I let this simmer for another 30 minutes uncovered to thicken up and cook off the alcohol.

Then it was time to serve!

Shredded cheddar – check.

Diced onion – check.

Party in my mouth – CHECK!!!!

Someone pinch me & wake me up, I think I’ve gone to dried chile heaven 😀

I loved the flavor of this stew/soup/chili.

Such depth with the rich chicken meat, spicy smokey peppers and hint of savory nuttiness from the peanuts.

I’ve never used peanuts in a dish like this before but I must say I will definitely be doing it again!

The Man and I decided that this recipe was a “make-again” for sure….

Which then led into the discussion of how we “never have the same thing twice” haha and that it’s kind of like living in a restaurant around here…

But that’s another story for another day.

Hey, once again, it could be worse 😛

TGIAF!!!

7 responses to “It Could Be Worse :)

  1. oh girl! I hope you feel better QUICK! But yes, soft foods are pretty wonderful to be stuck eating 😉 This looks fab. Love the beer addition. What man (or awesome chick) wouldn’t love this dish?

  2. Omg L.O.L. @ “hide the beans”!!!!! Bahahahahahahaha!!!

    I’m sooo glad you liked it! The fact that the dried chile queen gives it the stamp of approval means I have succeeded 🙂 ❤

  3. That looks so good! Haha, I love how you said you have to hide the beans! My boyfriend does the same thing! Anytime I go to make a new recipe, the first thing he says is there aren’t any beans in here, are there? He constantly says no more beans! Haha! 🙂

  4. Oh my gosh, I am so sorry about your tooth! 😦 Hopefully you’ll get first class at-home care to make up for it….and it’s always an excuse to eat more soft foods (who doesn’t like yogurt, oatmeal and ice cream, right?!!). I LOVE the Corona addition to your meal…if I buy a 6 pack of Corona and pour one into a meal, that means I have to drink the other 5, right? 😉

  5. i had to come over because i saw your comment on jessica’s site about the packers. it’s everywhere in my house, too! my husband is obsessed. sigh.

    • hey! obsessed is definitely the case here too, i think our whole house would be decked out in packers stuff if he had his way haha!! thanks for stopping by and glad to find someone else with green/yellow everywhereeeee in their home 🙂

Leave a Reply

