Ricotta Marinara Calzones

Last night The Man and I spent a cozy night at home.

It was gloomy & cold & raining so it was an obvious choice 🙂

On the menu, an easy calzone dinner.  If you’ve never tried making these at home, you totally should, they’re such a fun deviation from normal pizza and pretty easy at that!

Ricotta Marinara Calzones

This made 3 generously sized calzones.

  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 tblsp olive oil
  • 1/2 jar marinara, extra to serve
  • 1/2 cup ricotta
  • 1 tblsp. dried oregano
  • black pepper to taste
  • sliced mozzarella
  • whole wheat pizza dough (used TJ’s)
  • cooking spray

Cook onions & green pepper in olive oil until tender, about 10 minutes. 

Add garlic towards the end.

Add in oregano, black pepper, marinara sauce & ricotta cheese to blend.

Our favorite short cut…

Roll out pizza dough.

Add ricotta marinara filling. 

Top with mozzarella cheese.

Fold in half then seal edges using a fork.

Place into a baking sheet covered with cooking spray.  Top with additional cooking spray.

Bake at 350F for 25 minutes until browned.

Warm, cheesy, tomato-ey goodness! 😛

Some more marinara is always welcome.

I had a happy Italian on my hands needless to say 😉

These were delicious and perfect for a lazy weekend night.  They even kept well in the fridge overnight, I had one for lunch today and mmmm mmmm still deelish.

Tonight we’re having the parents over for a family dinner, so I better get to cooking! 

P.S.  I have a great new appetizer recipe for you that I came up with for tonight’s dinner… I’ll share tomorrow 😀

3 responses to “Ricotta Marinara Calzones

  1. mmm ricotta and marinara combined. Just so good. Your calzones look fabulous. And I am a huge fan of whole wheat dough- I like it way better than traditional white.

  2. lowandbhold

    I made calzones once and loved them and they were super easy and then I never made them again. What’s up with that?! Those look super yummy!

  3. Calzones are so tasty! I love that it’s basically a stuffed pizza for one.

Leave a Reply

