“Fried Rice” — No Oil & Still Tasty???

Remember the quick oil-free fried rice I raved about Friday night?

Well it’s time to share the “recipe”!

It was actually accidental that it came together this way (w/out oil) – as I was just throwing ingredients into a pan in a hurry to have a quick meal before heading out to a party.

But I’m sure glad it did 😀

This is so incredibly easy, trust me.  You’ll have a healthy dinner on the table in no time plus it won’t put a big dent in the ol’ wallet either – always a win around this time of year 😉

Oil-Free Veggie “Fried” Rice

Serves 2

What you’ll need:

  • ½ bag frozen vegetables, I chose California blend (carrot, broc, cauliflower)
  • 1.5 c. brown rice, I had some pre-cooked stashed in the freezer from a past adventure, perfect use for it!
  • 2 tblsp terryaki sauce, I really like this Kikkoman Teriyaki marinade/sauce vs. soy sauce
  • 2 eggs
  • Black pepper to taste
  •  

** Make sure to use a non-stick pan **

First step, add frozen veggies to a hot pan with about ¾ cup water.  Loosely cover and turn heat up to high – 10 minutes.  They’ll start to boil about halfway through and get mostly cooked/heated through during this step.

Remove lid and turn heat down to medium-high, most of your water should be evaporated at this point.  Add in rice & black pepper.  Cover again for another 5 minutes.

Uncover again and turn heat down to medium, there should be no water left at this point.  Now stir in the sauce and the eggs, cooking until the eggs are set – another 5 minutes.  Stir this pretty continously to mix thoroughly and prevent sticking.

Guess what, you’re done!

You may notice a bit of sticking to the bottom of the pan but that’s okay, a quick rinse will remove that from your non-stick in no time 🙂

Plus I love that browned flavor it leaves on the veggies & rice 🙂

Such an easy and satisfying dinner!

 Tell me, do you have a version of fried rice that you like to make at home?

I’d love to try some different variations on this basic version!

7 responses to ““Fried Rice” — No Oil & Still Tasty???

  1. I am definitely trying this this week!!

  2. I’ve never made fried rice before, but this recipe looks pretty tasty!

  3. That seriously looks awesome. Love the eggs tossed in there too (isn’t that like the best part of takeout fried rice?). Great job

  4. I never knew how easy it was to make fried rice! I was always so intimidated by it. Now I am gong to try it! This recipe is awesome! 🙂

  5. That’s awesome! I love fried rice so this is great!

  6. I had no idea about putting eggs in stir-fry?! Shows ya how much I know. 🙂 I loooove brown rice and veggies – just had it (um, takeout) the other night. I need to try this at home!

  7. Great blog – I just found you from kacy’s!

    Love your fried rice idea. I’m a HUGE fan and make it a lot, but have never cracked the eggs over the rice. I love this idea and will try it next time. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

