Takin’ It Easy

Phew!  Going back to work after a few days off for the holidays is always tough, anyone else with me on that?! 😛

At least last night I had the perfect easy dinner to get me relaxed and ready for the work week:

Thanks to Fanantic Mom’s ability to know her daughter oh so well, my stocking this year included a delicious soup mix from Frontier Soups for an easy go-to meal!

All I had to do was add chicken, chicken stock and salsa.  Bam.

Good thing I whipped up some homemade chicken stock just that morning too, I mean, what are the chances?! 😉

Homemade chicken stock seriously turns any meal from great to fan-freakin’-tastic.  Trust me. 

Next time you roast a chicken or cook a bone-in piece, just stash the bones in the freezer until you have a snowy Sunday morning to throw together some stock.  Celery, onion, fresh thyme, black pepper and salt plus an hour or two and you’re good to go.

I used Whole Foods chicken breasts, which I cooked in said chicken stock before shredding and adding to the soup mix.

To serve I decided to try some homemade tortilla strips.

I can’t wait to bust out the new tortilla press soon… so soon!

Fresh corn tortillas definitely > than packaged 😉

Corn tortillas in a few tablespoons of vegetable oil. 

Crunch 😀

One or two for garnish was all this needed.  Plus some shredded cheese and sour cream (or Greek yogurt!) to top and dinner – served!

This soup mix was a hit.  The Man and I both really really enjoyed it!

There were also some much needed greens to go with.

After the Christmas Eve and Christmas Day meals, this light meal was definitely a much welcomed treat!

If you want to pick up this soup mix too, I’m pretty sure they sell it at Whole Foods.  I know I’ll definitely be stashing one away in the cabinet for a fast and delicious go-to meal option 🙂

Now I’m off to relax and sit on my bootay – the Yoga for Buns download I did after work tonight totally kicked my you-know-what!!!

2 responses to “Takin’ It Easy

  1. I love tortilla soup! That looks nice and easy.

  2. Delicious. I love the taco strips on top- a nice, restaurant quality touch! I am finallly back in town. Post should be up at last manana

Leave a Reply

