Feta & Olive Stuffed Chicken Baked in Tomato Garlic Sauce

We escaped the winter storm somehow!!  You know, the one that is causing all sorts of crazy trouble all up and down the east coast for Atlanta and now up to New York?

Well I guess it decided to spare Virginia this time around and can’t say I was disappointed 🙂

Snow snow go away, come again when I don’t have a job I have to be at anyway some other day.

My Dad used to sing to me “rain rain go away, come again some other day, little Stephy wants to play” when I was little – this totally just reminded me of that 😀 

Well after another superlong day at the office and with muscles more sore than a marathon runner (what gives?) I was all about taking my stress out on the kitchen tonight.  In a good way!

We had no dinner plan as of 5pm, except for that is was going to include the chicken breasts that had been defrosting all day.

When I asked The Man what we should have for dinner he said to me “I thought we were having chicken?” <— ummm any specifics there dear?  

I guess he figured it’s better to leave the “specifics” to me… I’m not going to disagree 😉

Here’s what I came up with:

Feta & Olive Stuffed Chicken Baked in Tomato garlic Sauce

Serves 4

For the tomato sauce I pulled together the following:

  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • tomato sauce (about 2 cups)
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • sea salt & black pepper to taste
  • 1 tblsp olive oil

Then the rest:

  • 2 large chicken breasts
  • about 10-15 green olives w/ pimentos, halved
  • crumbled feta (close to the whole container)

First let’s make our sauce – simple flavors like this are so underrated sometimes aren’t they?

1. Saute chopped onion in olive oil over medium heat until transulent, about 7 minutes.

2. Add chopped garlic, sea salt and black pepper for another minute.

3.  Throw in the tomato sauce, dried basil and oregano.  Give a healthy stir and cover, turning down to medium low for 15-20 minutes while you prep the chicken.

For the chicken, if your chicken breasts are as thick as mine, pound them with a wooden mallet (or whatever “weapon??” you have on hand in your kitchen that will do the trick) until about 1″ thick.

Then butterfly down the middle, being careful not to go all the way through.  Open up the chicken breasts and place a layer of feta and olives down the middle.  Then fold the chicken breasts back up.

Now you’re ready for assembly. 

Pour half of the tomato sauce on the bottom of a baking dish, then lay the stuffed chicken breasts into the pan, followed by the remaining sauce.

Place into a 350F oven for 35 minutes total or until your chicken is cooked through.  See details below:

  • 20 minutes uncovered
  • 10 minutes covered with foil
  • cover w/ extra cheese topping, 5 more minutes covered

Check out the olive feta stuffing! 

The chicken was super moist and the sauce that formed during cooking was so tasty.  I may or may not have slathered it over the rest of my meal… just sayin’ 😉

Steamed broccoli and simple buttered noodles to go with – perfect 😀

This recipe turned out to so good!  The Man commented that it seemed to have a Sicilian flair, to which I looked at him like I didn’t know him at all while smiling larger than life on the inside since I’m not sure I’ve ever heard something so “foodie-like” come out of his mouth.

We gave this dish a definite thumbs up!

Do you like coming up with meal ideas on a whim or would you rather follow a recipe?

9 responses to “Feta & Olive Stuffed Chicken Baked in Tomato Garlic Sauce

  1. this made me think of Dad singing ‘we all live in a yellow submarine’ when i was little hahah! maybe someday i’ll like the oldies ;)….and fyi its been snowing all day today … hoping i get ‘snowed’ in tomorrow! love you and miss you

  2. I am 100 percent meals on a whim kinda girl. I get frustrated following recipes and usually want to add my own thing to it. I want to try this one though!

  3. Feta is my favorite cheese and it looks delicious in and on your chicken dish. I would have sprinkled it on my broccoli and tube pasta too!

  4. YUMMM! I’m not a chicken fan, but anything with olives, feta and tomatoes has my heart 🙂

  5. You guys definitely lucked out on missing all that snow! What a mess. 🙂 I have a love/hate relationship with snow….depends on if I REALLY want to get where I’m supposed to go at the time.

    I’m definitely an unoriginal recipe girl….I wish I could be more CookinFanatic Style and wing it!

  6. That turned out wonderful! I am the type of cook who takes a recipe as an idea, then make it my own. For my lunch today, I recently found a recipe for a beef verde chili – I liked the ingredients of the ground sirloin and the green salsa, then made the rest my own – it was fantastic – I brought it for two co-workers today and both gave it thumbs up too. 😀

    I plan on posting the recipe tomorrow 😀

  7. I can’t say I am an olive fan but my boyfriend would probably die for this. looks uber delish!

  8. Thanks this recipe is exactly what I have been looking for all morning 🙂

Leave a Reply

