Work Day Chili

After spotting this extra lean cubed beef at Whole Foods the other day I was a bit stumped as to what different and delicious meal I could make with it…

Then, after remembering some research I had done about chili earlier (yes, I’m weird), the thought of turning this into chili was all I could think about.

Well, not all I could think about, I’m not quite that weird (yet)… 😉

I also hadn’t brought out the crockpot in quite some time, so you know where this is headed!

I based the chili on this recipe, which I followed for the most part with the exception of some substitutions for what I had on hand (my measurements and additions noted below).

CookinFanatic Work Day Chili

  • 1 lb. extra lean round beef cubes
  • 1 28oz. can organic diced tomatoes
  • 1 can chopped tomatoes w/ green chilis (Rotel)
  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 2 green pepper, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 can pinto beans, drained & rinsed
  • 1 can black beans, drained & rinsed
  • 1 & 3/4 cups organic beef broth **only use 1 cup if you aren’t going to use masa harina**
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1.5 tblsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • sea salt
  • black pepper
  • 1 tblsp masa harina **see note above**

I also put all this together last night so that this morning all it took was a simple 10 minutes to get this bad boy going!

Here’s how I did it:

(1) Veggie Chop.

If you remember, last night while I was prepping our easy supper I also pre-chopped the green peppers, onions and garlic for today.

Set them in a covered container and into the fridge, all ready for their morning commute to the crockpot 🙂

(2) Ingredient lay-out & spice mix up.

I set out all of the pantry ingredients on the counter so that I was ready to roll in the morning. 

I also combined all of the spices as called for into a small covered container last night, this way I wasn’t fumbling with measuring spoons at 7am this morning!  Very smart decision there 😀

(3) Crockpot time.

I added the tomatoes, beef broth, water and spices to the crock this morning, giving them a stir to combine.  Then went in the pre-chopped veggies plus the meat. 

Stirred it all up and covered/sealed, setting the crockpot to low for 9 hours to do its magic while I did mine at work 😉

So freaking easy! (the crockpot part, not the work part!)

When I came home, the timer was on it’s final countdown…

3-2-1!!!

  

 I added the beans (drained) and let it go another 30 minutes on low while I did some much needed yoga.  Those few days on the couch while sick did not equate to limber muscles!

Now here was the last step, and one that you can definitely omit if you want to and aren’t obsessed with this stuff like I am (see note above, reduce the beef broth to 1 cup if you choose not to use the masa harina).

Masa harina <— thickener!  Plus a lil’ flavor adder 🙂 

I stirred this in and got a thicker consistency right away.  But I let it go on high for another 10 minutes to thoroughly combine.

To serve:

Shredded cheddar + plain Chobani!

You know how much I love to use this fabulous Greek yogurt in place of sour cream.  It works beautifully, so creamy, thick & luscious.  Trust me 😛

This chili never stood a chance – so good!!!

We also had a few of these on the side…

Remember those homemade roasted poblano and cheddar tamales from a couple weeks back?  Surrrrrrprise, theyyyy’re back!

They froze wonderfully (note to self) and went beautifully with the chili 🙂

Now I’ve actually never made chili with cubed beef before.  It’s always the standard ground beef or if I’m making white chicken chili then obviously chicken.

But guess what, this was deeeeeeeeeeelish.  It had a definite kick of spice from the Rotel, which was cooled perfectly with the creamy cheddar & “sour cream” topping.  I’d say this was more of a “stoup” (= soup/stew) than the thick chili-like consistency I’m used to with traditional chili… but tomato tomahto, I loved it either way!

So, I must say, ya’ll did a great job guessing the meal!  You definitely know the CookinFanatic pretty darn well from the looks of things 😛

Do tell, what is your favorite way to make chili?  Beef? Chicken? Veggie only? I’d love to hear some new ideas!

6 responses to “Work Day Chili

  1. Yum! That chili looks delicious! It’s such a comforting dish – warms the soul! 🙂

  2. yayyy! Chili is such an awesome meal- and so many leftovers. Love rotel- it adds a great kick. Favorite chili? I switch it up every time. Black beans and corn are my favorite add ins though. Happy (almost) Friday!

  3. Chili is one of my FAVES in this cold, chilly (hahaha) weather! My favorite recipe is this one:

    http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/grandmas-slow-cooker-vegetarian-chili/Detail.aspx

    And I also LOVE Erica’s Butternut Squash Chili. So so good!

  4. Here is my all-time favorite chili recipe, although I have several on my recipe index on my blog. I grind my own chicken breasts in the food processor – the ground chicken in the stores kinda grosses me out!

    http://mybizzykitchen.com/2010/02/06/best-buffalo-chicken-chili/

    Happy Friday!

  5. Fanatic Mom

    I bought the same beef cubes at Whole Foods this week. I am making this chili! Thanks for the new recipe.

  6. I love myself I great bowl of chili. I like that you paired them with the tamales…looks so hearty together! I really need to get a slow cooker too, just imagining the possibilities.

Leave a Reply

