Spaghetti w/ Fried Eggs & Roasted Peppers

For Christmas The Man’s parents got me this fabulous book:

And I wouldn’t be lying if I told you that I’ve spent countless hours reading this lil’ treasure already 😀

This book is a not only a collection of Times recipes from the past 150 years but also full of food history outlining the changes in food trends and preparation over the years.

It’s fascinating to me to read the typical menu for a week for a family in the late 1800’s, or recipes dating back from the early 1900’s sent in by every day housewives, or how the basic salad has changed over the years.  Maybe that’s just because I’m such a foodie nerd though, who knows 😉

Amanda Hesser is a fabulous writer – along with each recipe are her little short stories which are so entertaining – and do you know that she tried every single one of the 1,100 recipes in the book?!

Anyways, I’ll stop while I’m ahead here, but if you or anyone you know is a foodie that enjoys reading then I’d highly recommend getting this book.  You seriously won’t be sorry!

Onto tonight’s dinner, which you may have guessed is from this book:

Spaghetti with Fried Eggs & Roasted Peppers

This one immediately caught my eye, I’ve never seen anything like it!

And lucky for me I happened to also find the recipe online, which means I can share it with all of you 😀

Instead of roasting my own peppers I took a weeknight shortcut and bought the ones in a jar.  They also happened to be already marinated in garlic, so I omitted that ingredient from the recipe as well.

I used Panko as the bread crumbs and also modified the amount of olive oil called for, as below.

  • 2 roasted peppers (jar) in garlic, drained & cut into thin strips
  • 1 tblsp salted capers, drained
  • 1 tblsp fresh parsley, chopped
  • sea salt
  • black pepper
  • 3 rounded tblsp Panko bread crumb
  • 2 tblsp tblsp olive oil
  • 3/4 package spaghetti
  • 2 eggs
  • freshly grated Parmesan

In a small baking dish, combine the sliced peppers, capers and parsley.  Season with salt and pepper. 

Sprinkle panko on top and set aside.

Do you know that I’ve never cooked with capers before?  In fact I was pretty convinced that I did not like them until tonight…

Preheat your oven to 350F.  Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.  Just before it boils, sprinkle 1 tblsp olive oil over red peppers and place in oven for 10 minutes.

Add pasta to boiling water and cook until al dente.  After a few minutes scoop out a cup of water and set aside.

Meanwhile, in a pan cook the eggs sunny side up using 1 tblsp olive oil.  You want the whites to set and the yolks to be runny so this only takes a minute or two.

Now here comes the fun part!

Pour the drained hot pasta into a large serving bowl. 

Toss in the warm baked peppers w/ capers & bread crumb – I used tongs but you could also use two forks.

Then add the fried eggs, adding some of the egg cooking olive oil as well. 

As you toss the pasta, break the egg whites into pieces and let the yolks act as a sauce – they will spread over the pasta and cook further from the heat.  Add a little reserved pasta water if it gets too thick ( I needed about another cup).

Serve w/ freshly grated Parmesan cheese and you are ready for a delicious meal!

This was so creamy and rich and really unlike anything I’ve ever had before.  Both The Man and I really enjoyed it!

He says to me:  “this is definitely a restaurant quality meal”…

Not sure how to take that one but I’ll roll with it (??) 😉

Now I just can’t wait to try out more of the fabulous recipes in this book!!!!

Guess it’ll just have to wait until my 29th year though, since all that happens tomorrow….

How did I turn 29 so fast?  Wasn’t I just turning 21?  *sigh*

Age = wisdom.  Right 😛

Tomorrow night we have some fun plans to celebrate both my birthday and Fanatic Dad’s birthday (which was today!) — stay tuned!

12 responses to “Spaghetti w/ Fried Eggs & Roasted Peppers

  1. lowandbhold

    Gaaah that looks so good. As usual. Happy early birthday!

  2. Again- happy happy birthday early!!!!!!!! This book sounds SO cool. I’d love to read the old, old recipes. Mmmm yolks as sauce. I miss yolk a bit 😉

  3. That dinner looks delicious – I love eggs and they do make everything so creamy!

    Happy early birthday!

  4. Wow, what an interesting combination! It looks and sounds fabulous – who knew!?!

  5. Happy Birthday Stephanie, I loved being your age! Just enjoy it. I will be 47 next week! No stopping the years, but you can enjoy each and everyone of them.

  6. I have been reading your blog for a few weeks now and I love all of your fun dinner ideas and recipes!
    Anyhoo, I was stuck at home waiting for the dishwasher repairman and got to catch a bit of The Today Show and this very recipe was featured! no roasted red pepper though : /
    http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/41258668/ns/today-foodwine/

    I thought I had to comment and possibly make this dish since the universe seems to be throwing it at me!
    Happy Birthday as well!

    Joanne

    • Thanks for stopping by with such a nice comment!!! You definitely need to try the pasta/egg combo, it is so delicious and it sounds like it’s just meant to be! 🙂

      Steph

  7. Happy happy birthday! 🙂

    I love eggs in pasta – so good!

  8. DELICIOUS look pasta! I am craving pasta like mad right now….such a great winter meal. (Or spring, or fall, or summer….)

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I hope you have a fantastic day and I can’t wait for the recap!

  9. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!! I hope your day is absolutely FABULOUS and I’m sure it will be. Can’t wait to hear all about it. 🙂

  10. Ohh this looks so yummy. I love eggs in pasta…and salad. It’s like my Chorizo & Soft Boiled Egg Salad where all the yolk combines with the dressing and making it nice and rich.
    I wont say Happy Birthday YET as it’s not offical 😉 BUT you’ve got to go check out my recipe for today, Chicken Tamale Casserole. Ohhh was it good! I guess my recipe can be my birthday present! haha

  11. I want that book! Also, I love fried eggs on spaghetti, with sauteed spinach and parm cheese 🙂

Leave a Reply

