Spicy Tomatoes & Eggs

Where did this week go already?ย  Not that I’m complaining or anything… but woah TGIF! ๐Ÿ˜›

Oh and it’s about 98% official you guys, remember the super exciting news that I had but couldn’t let loose quite yet (??), well by February 14th that is going to change!

I can’t wait to share this with you friends, it is one of the most exciting things that’s happened in my life and I just want to be able to finally share it ๐Ÿ˜€

Well let’s move onto the food portion of this show, shall we?

Enter:ย  Obsession.

Oaxaca al Gusto: An Infinite Gastronomy (The William and Bettye Nowlin Series in Art, History, and Culture of the Western Hemisphere)

Yep, it’ssssss backkkkkk!

I’ll give you guys the recap of dinner but not going to be able to share the recipes since they aren’t published online ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Gotta do the right thing though ya know!

Egg and Masa “Omelet” (torta de huevo con masa)

Can you really go wrong with these ingredients?

Made into a torta on the stovetop!

The perfect accompaniment to this spicy fresh egg dish…

Shoemaker’s Eggs (Huevos zapateros)

A sauce is made using tomatoes, dried chile de arbol, sea salt and epazote, an herb common in Mexican cuisine.

This was my first time using epazote in the kitchen, I really liked the flavor it added.ย  It was unique and unlike anything I’d ever had.

I also read that it can be toxic in large quantities, after we ate.ย  So of course was paranoid that I killed us both for a good portion of the night.

The Man must seriously question his life sometimes haha ๐Ÿ˜›

And don’t worry, the 1/4 tsp I used was perfectly fine after all!

I also got to use my new toy ๐Ÿ™‚

Score!

I just love the flavor these dried chiles added to the tomato sauce, the perfect kick of spice that is a punch to the tastebuds but then doesn’t linger around.ย  Perfect ๐Ÿ™‚

The eggs were cooked in the sauce until set and voila

Served together they were a match made in heaven!ย  The egg omelet was so delicious, the flavors of the masa, onion and jalapeno eachย really shined through.ย 

Dipped in the spicy tomato sauce with the creamy eggs, my mouth was sayin’ Olรฉ!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

What a fun and different dinner idea, right?ย  Plus super economical I might add!

It reminded of a version of this Italian egg & tomato dish that we had a few months back which we also really enjoyed.ย 

Just reminds me that I need to make dishes like this more often!

Are you adventurous with trying new ingredients in the kitchen?ย What’s the “weirdest” ingredient you’ve used and ended up loving?!

HAPPY FRIDAY ALL ๐Ÿ˜›

8 responses to “Spicy Tomatoes & Eggs

  1. This looks totally amazing. Eggs are so good with tomato or tomato sauces and that torta…drool! I think its great that you don’t post the recipe unless its readily available online- I do the same. Hope you have a fantastic weekend (more birthday celebrating??)

  2. I LOVE eggs poached in salsa/red sauces like that. But I’m going to have to find a recipe for a torta like that! It looks so good.

    Hooray for the exciting news ๐Ÿ™‚ Can’t wait to hear the details!!! Happy Friday!

  3. Girl, I can’t wait to hear your news! I remember when you first talked about it but didn’t want to bug ya. ๐Ÿ™‚ Whatever it is, you deserve it!!!!

  4. Girl, you’ve got me all excited about this big news! Have a lovely weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I call that dish eggs in pergatory – love the spicy tomato sauce! Except I cook my eggs separate because I like a really well cooked egg.

    Happy Friday!

  6. I really need to try cooking eggs like that. Looks so good!
    Can’t wait to hear your news!

  7. Can’t wait for tonight!!!!

Leave a Reply

