Italian Chicken Sausage & Cannellini Bean Stew

For some reason on Friday’s I never have a clue what we are having for dinner ahead of time?

I usually only focus on planning Mon-Thurs and just leave the weekend’s food up in the air, I guess I like it better that way! 

Maybe we go out, maybe not?  Maybe it’s a fast dinner, maybe not?

It’s always an adventure either way 😀

As of around 4pm yesterday I was still clueless as to what dinner was going to be… But after a walk through Whole Foods and a random craving for a warm thick stew, I decided on a veggie and chicken sausage medley.

Want to know an easy way to get a certain someone to eat lotsa veggies and even rave about it? 

Make this stew.  Promises.

Italian Chicken Sausage & Cannellini Bean Stew

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 large carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can cannellini beans, drained & rinsed
  • 1 package Italian chicken sausages, chopped
  • 2 red potatoes, peeled & chopped
  • 1 cup orecchiette
  • 4 cups water
  • sea salt & black pepper to taste
  • dried oregano (about 1 tblsp)
  • dried basil (about 1 tblsp)
  • red pepper flakes (about 1 tsp)
  • 1 tblsp olive oil

My ears almost fell off my head when The Man said this was “the best soup (stew) he’s ever had” without me even asking.  A dish full of beans AND veggies, really?  I think someone is finally learning or else I’ve mastered the art of this “hide the beans” & veggies thang 😉

And as if I didn’t believe him, he then proceeded to have 3 bowls.  Who am I to talk though, I had 2.  And a half.

Then immediately fell into a soup coma…

Start by cooking the onion, carrot and zucchini in 1 tblsp olive oil for about 7 minutes until the veggies start to get tender.  Season with salt & pepper.

Add beans, tomatoes, basil, oregano and red pepper flakes.  Bring to a boil.

Then in go the chopped chicken sausages, check out all that flavor in these Lou’s Famous Mild Italian Chicken Sausages!

Not to mention they are all natural (free of nitrates, preservatives and antibiotics) and currently buy one get one free at Whole Foods, score 🙂

In fact, this whole pot of soup came it at under $7 (not counting spices & cheese topping).  Using mainly organic, natural ingredients.  And made about 5 servings!  Who says healthy good food can’t be economical 😀

Let this simmer, covered, until the veggies are tender (stir occasionally).  I think this was about 45 minutes but I lost track of time while hanging out with The Man over some Friday night cocktails?!  <— see, minimal attention required to this dish 😉

Once the veggies are tender add in the diced potatoes, turn up to a boil and cook until close to tender.  This felt like it took forever (I was so hungry!) but in reality I’m thinking about 20-25 minutes.

Then in goes the pasta, cooking according to direction.

Check out the finished product!

What you end up with is a super thick n’ creamy stew without using any fat – who doesn’t love that?!?!

By adding the beans early on, they break down and become super creamy over the cooking time, who knew?!

And you guys all know how The Man “hates beans” right… uh huh.  Favorite stew ever, he didn’t even know they were there 😛

The flavor of the chicken sausages blended into the stew and all the veggie goodness over the longer cooking time –  and oh it was so good! 

Add the melted Monteray Jack on top and it’s just sets things over the edge, oh please don’t skip that step!

Warm, luscious, creamy, comforting, healthy vegetable stew.  What more could you ask for?

This may take a little time to cook (probably an hour and a half total) but I promise you that the end result is so totally worth it.  Plus during that hour and a half all you really  have to do is add food and stir and drink wine… not too much to ask right 😛

Well I’m off to find more of the leftover soup clean up the house and run some errands.  Tonight is celebration night and we have some friends coming into town to join the party – hooray!  Plus I get to see this fabulous lady 😀

Good thing I started my yoga with a relaxing yoga session with The Traveling Yoga Sisters, since I have a feeling tonight’s gonna get a bit crazy 😉

How do you get creative to get a non-veggie-lover in your life to eat their veg?  Any new ideas much welcomed!

HAPPY SATURDAY FRIENDS 🙂

5 responses to “Italian Chicken Sausage & Cannellini Bean Stew

  1. That looks fantastic! I love cannelini beans. And the melted Monteray Jack looks absolutely wonderful. Friday dinners are always up in the air for us too. Some nights we’ll go out- but if we’re tired, I’ll usually just cook (like I did last night). Have a blast tonight!

  2. oh and veggie purees into pasta sauces or bakes are great ways to sneak in veggies too!

  3. Gosh that looks amazing! I will have to keep this on file since we’re getting an ice storm soon.

  4. Bradely Miller

    … and what happens to the 4 cups of water?
    And by “cooking according to direction” in reference to the pasts, do you mean “cooked according to directions”?

  5. Pingback: Columbus Foodie » Blog Archive » January 2011 Roundup

Leave a Reply

