Spicy Stew Sunday

This weekend I did myself a huge favor by making our Monday night meal ahead of time (why don’t I do this more often?!)

I figured that since I was already going to be in the kitchen busy with making the moussaka, I may as well get a head start on the week too!

This also gave me ample time to cook a delicious weeknight slow cooked dish for hours over the stove, all while just giving it the occasional stir.

Planning ahead:  Making life easier since who knows when 🙂

Spicy Beef & Onion Stew over Rice

The base for this beef stew was inspired by the spicy sauce from this egg recipe we had a few nights back, and I must say it turned out to be a total success!

Plus it was super easy, economical and not too hard on the waistline since there’s no added fat aside from the meat 🙂

  • about 1 lb stew meat/cubed beef
  • 1 28 oz. can crushed tomatoes (these had some oregano/basil)
  • 2 chiles de arbol
  • 1/2 tsp Mexican oregano
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1 cup water

Start by adding the crushed tomatoes and chiles de arbol to a medium sized pot, bring to a simmer and letting cook for 10 minutes, covered (unless you want your stove to be splattered in tomatoes, just sayin’ 😉 ).

Using an immersion blender, blend the sauce until the chiles are incorporated and smooth (you could use a regular blender for this as well).

Next add in your diced onion, garlic and beef plus about a cup of H2O. 

Give a stir and bring to a boil.  Turn down to a simmer and cover, partially (you want the liquid to evaporate some), cooking for another 2-3 hours until the beef is fall apart tender and the sauce has reduced and become very thick.

“Quality control” may require numerous tastings during this process.  It may even leave you hoping you have enough left for the meal itself 😉

Stash away in the fridge until the next day when you are ready to eat!

To serve, simply prepare some rice, I used white rice because that’s what we had, and serve the reheated stew on top.

And prepare your tastebuds for a major flavor punch!

I promise I had some brussel sprouts on the side too 😉

The stew developed the deepest, richest flavor over all that cooking time and the beef was just melt in your mouth. 

Sometimes simple flavors are seriously the best.  How many ingredients did this dish have, seriously only a handful?

I know I’m always saying this, but if you haven’t experienced using dried chiles in your kitchen you should really give it a shot.

They add the most amazing flavor without adding an overpowering knock you out spice.

I’m in love 😛

I’ll definitely be making this dish again, loved it.

Time to get going, it’s day 1 of month end close and this week is shaping up to be a pretty busy one!

Have a good one ya’ll.

Do you ever make meals ahead of time in preparation for a busy week?

7 responses to “Spicy Stew Sunday

  1. This meal looks fantastic! Sadly, I’ve never really gotten into the habit of prepping meals ahead of time, but boy, it would sure be nice during the hectic times in life like right now!

    Good luck with your busy week. We’ve already made it to Tuesday. 🙂

  2. oh yes! I couldn’t make it through the week without doing some prep or making meals ahead of time! Especially when I was teaching at the gym at night! And I agree- simple flavors often make the BEST recipes. This looks so yummy- I love that you put it over rice.

  3. That sounds so good right now! I’m so cold!

  4. Love the picture of the onion and garlic!

    Nice job preparing this meal in advance. I always think about how much time that would save but never do it. I should try it this week!

  5. Yummm – that looks delicious on top of the rice!!!

    I DEFinitely have to plan my meals ahead. I am too crank to cook when I get home at night (um….issues, Holly?) so I cook a meal or two on the weekend and usually eat the leftovers all week. And I have a couple of quick go-to meals (like wraps or savory oats) that I whip up for dinner a couple of times a week. I’m REALLY into freezing things right now, too – that way I don’t get bored out of my gourd with leftovers! 🙂

  6. Too many onions for me, but it looks delicious!

    Yep – I cook almost all my food for the week on the weekend, unless I am using the crock pot or something like that – I love knowing that I am organized for the week!

  7. I love making meals ahead of time! My husband and I are trying to make an “extra” meal on Sunday (that has at least 4 portions) so he can take 2 for lunch and we can have it once for dinner during the week.

    Saves so.much.time.

Leave a Reply

