Spicy Chicken & Tomato Orecchiette

Last night, after a long & busy day at work, I just couldn’t wait to get home and get in the kitchen for this dinner idea!

So normal, right?

Guess that’s what makes me the CookinFanatic? šŸ˜‰

Since I didn’t have a workout on the agenda, I poured myself a glass of wine and got started!

Dinner’sĀ inspiration came from two sources:Ā 

(1) The Pioneer Woman’sĀ Linguine w/ Chicken ThighsĀ and (2) Epicurious’ Orecchiette with Rabbit, Tomato and Basil Sauce

Don’t worry, NO rabbits were hurt during this process, that’s’ just not my thing šŸ™‚

What is my thing is a hearty flavorful chicken thigh.Ā  I couldn’t have put it any better than PW:

I’m with ya sister!

Chicken thighs.Ā  Putting the chickenĀ breast to shame in the flavor department since… forever? šŸ˜›

So here enters a sort ofĀ fusion of the above two recipes, and what I think turned out to be a dish full of flavor.Ā  PerhapsĀ  close to beingĀ chicken cacciatore’sĀ long lostĀ twin?Ā  Well,Ā close, but not quite!

Spicy Chicken & Tomato Orecchiette

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, deseeded and chopped
  • 2 large cloves (orĀ 3 smallĀ cloves)Ā garlic, chopped
  • 1.25 lbs boneless, skinless chicken thighs, chopped small
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1 tblsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tblsp chopped fresh basil (I used the frozen fresh from our garden)
  • 1 28oz. can crushed tomatoes (these had basil/oregano)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • about 10 oz. orecchiette (2/3 of box)
  • sea salt & black pepper to taste
  • Parmesan cheese to serve

Have you read this article outĀ about the increased amount of BPA in canned tomatoes?Ā  I really need to get back in the habit of using the Pomi boxed version which I adore (only ingredient: tomatoes)!Ā  Next time…Ā 

The beginnings of this dish are your basic sautĆ© of theĀ chopped chicken thighs inĀ 1 tblsp olive oil.Ā 

Be sure to season with salt and pepper too!

Once the chicken has browned a bit, remove from the pan.Ā 

AddĀ theĀ onions and green peppers to the same pan, they will cook in all that wonderful-ness that the chicken left behind.

Cook the veggies until tender, aboutĀ 8Ā minutes.

Also add inĀ the garlic towards the end.

Now splash in aĀ healthy pour of white wine (for the pan and for the cook, ya know?!) and let this do it’s thing for another 5 minutes or so.

Add the chicken back to the pan…

Then the tomatoes and water…

Plus the spices…

P.S.Ā  If you use tomatoes that don’t have any seasoning already, I’d increase the amount of oregano and basilĀ in this dish.

Turn this down to medium-low and let simmer away (covered) for 20-30 minutes, until the chicken is done cooking and the flavors have blended.Ā 

While you’re waiting on the sauce, go ahead and boil your pasta according to direction.

I just love this little orecchiette pasta!

Once the pasta is done cooking you are ready to serve up your meal.

Oh the thick, dense pasta with the hearty yet light chicken sauce all topped with some grated Parmesan (which were more like Parm crumbles??) was just glorious!

It had a good hint of spice which was a perfect balance to the rich chicken meat.Ā  We devoured this one!

I would have never thought of putting chicken thighs in a pasta sauce like this but let me tell you friends, it works šŸ™‚

And now I’m off to think about my mid-morning snack already…

Is anyone else as excited as I am about these new Chobani flavors?!?!?!

Black Cherry. Mango. Lemon.Ā  Yes please šŸ˜›

Reviews coming soon!

Enjoy your Wednesday everyone.

Have you tried the new Chobani flavors?Ā  Which ones?Ā  Thoughts?

9 responses to “Spicy Chicken & Tomato Orecchiette

  1. whoop whoop! Yes! My package of Chobani is supposed to be here today! Can’t wait! The black cherry rocks and I have the lemon in the fridge for today- yummmmm. Great job on the recipe fusion. I wish my man liked onions and peppers!

  2. I love love love orechiette pasta. The infatuation started in college when I worked as a waitress at Olive Garden. I think I ate garlic herb chicken con broccoli for lunch every.single.shift. OY!

    I need to beg chobani for some samples of the new stuff. All I can ever find up here is 0% plain, vanilla, strawberry and-once in a blue moon- blueberry. BORING!

  3. SO jealous! I want to try the lemon yogurt SO SO badly. I bet it’s amazing.

  4. I’ve tried the mango. I liked it, but not as much as I wanted to. Can’t wait to try the other two!

  5. I tried the lemon flavor and I didn’t like it at all. I threw out the majority of the container. Ick! I really want to try the mango and black cherry!

  6. Chobani just sent me some coupons, so I’m excited to try the new flavors!!

  7. PW recipes never fail!!!! I’ve never seen that kind of pasta??!! It looks so cute and delicious.

    New Chobani flavors, what what?????! I canNOT wait to hear what you think about the Lemon, especially!

  8. Let me know how the mango is!!! I LOVE mango..and cooking chicken thighs in tomato sauce šŸ˜‰

  9. Have you had the Blood Orange Chiobani? It’s tangy orange and it’s FABULOUS! Also, the pineapple is my fav…mmmmm! So good! I’m addicted!

Leave a Reply

