Leftover Transformation

Happy Friday everyone 🙂

Sorry for going totally MIA last night but we had some things going on in the Fanatic Family that needed urgent tending too… let’s just say it’s been an exhausting past 24 hours but I know we’ll all get through it with the support of each other…

So anywho, after work today I was beyond exhausted, squeezed out an invigorating Solar Flow and then all I wanted was something fairly easy for dinner that didn’t take a stop off at the grocery store.

That’s where this leftover transformation comes into play!

Remember those delicious grass-fed burgers from the other night?  Well according to stilltasty.com (love love love this site, gives you the “life” of any food you could imagine!) they were still good for eating and I knew just what to do with them for a little “revival” 😀

I present:  Spicy Stuffed Poblanos

Thanks to my good friend Kristine (who hooked us UP last weekend w/ fresh garden goodies) I had a few poblanos that needed using.

So I decided to make an open face casserole with the following ingredients, all which we already had on hand 🙂

Totally also meant to add frozen corn, ooops! Hey, it’s Friday, gotta let some things go 😉

First I layered down the sliced poblanos

Then I got to the rice, which I cooked a large batch of to use for both tonight and then to freeze & save for later (such a great go-to on a busy weekday night!)

I mixed about half of this 2 cup pot o’rice with 2 leftover crumbled hamburgers and some cubed monterey jack cheese.  Then layered that atop the poblanos.

Into a 375F for about 30 minutes and a casserole was born…!

To go with this I decided that the eggplant in our fridge also needed to be eaten, gotta use up all the veggies before the farmer’s market tomorrow!

I sliced it up, gave it a salt & pepper and then a bath in almond milk & bread crumb.

Baked at 375F/425F until browned on the outside (about 20 minutes at each temp).

And served with a quick homemade chunky tomato sauce

  • 1 large tomato, chopped
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • Frank’s hot sauce
  • dried basil – about 1 tsp
  • dried oregano – about 1 tsp
  • S&P – to taste

Dinner is served 😛

Poblano Casserole:

Baked Eggplant w/ Fresh Tomato Sauce:

Delicious.  Healthy.  Economical.

Win. Win. Win.

I really enjoyed this quick tomato sauce too — I can’t wait for some leftovers tomorrow 😉

We have a pretty low key weekend on tap, which I’m really looking forward to I must say.  Perhaps a lil’ pool time is on the agenda tomorrow after the market, I’ll take it!

Night friends 😀

9 responses to “Leftover Transformation

  1. Hope everything is ok over there. Way to still rock an incredible dinner. I love finding creative ways to use leftovers. Such a great cook you are 🙂

  2. I hope everything is okay girl! You’ll be in my prayers!

    And that casserole? YUM!

  3. Mmm, nothing beats a good casserole. Thanks for sharing about stilltasty – I’d never been to the site before but it looks so handy! Hope everything is okay over with you 🙂

  4. livelaughloveandrun

    I definitely love a good casserole, but I’m so not as creative as you when it comes to the kitchen! I would never think to put all those things together.

  5. Love, love love salads.

  6. Pingback: 27 Blogs Sharing Creative Ways to Reuse Your Leftovers | Find A Nanny

  7. Pingback: 27 Blogs Sharing Creative Ways to Reuse Your Leftovers | Living better at 50+| Online Womens Magazine

  8. Pingback: 27 Blogs Sharing Creative Ways to Reuse Your Leftovers - LivingBetter50

  9. Pingback: 27 Blogs Sharing Creative Ways to Reuse Your Leftovers – Zero Waste Europe

Leave a comment