Mexican BBQ Sauce

Anddddd the Mexican flavor adventure continues…

I’m definitely going through a phase… ya think?

Oh well, it’s a phase that I could get used to that’s for sure 😉

At least until we get closer to Thanksgiving, when more traditional turkey day foods will soon again reappear!

But that is not today.  No friends.

Today we have these flavors:

Chili Guajillo, Chile Pasilla, Cloves, Onion & Garlic

The trip to the local Latino market left me with enough dried peppers for the next year… or month, we’ll see how it goes 😉

I used the guajillo and pasilla to make a version of Diana Kennedy’s Barbecue Sauce

Soaking the chiles in hot water for about 20 minutes…. well actually it turned into closer to 40 because I got completely side tracked talking to the Sears dishwasher repairman that was at our house at the time.  He was from Puerto Rico and a chef for 15 years, so talk of plaintains, pigeon peas, beans and rice got me a little off track!  I learned so many fun authentic recipes (plus something to do with the chile arbol!) and got some great restaurant recommendations around town too 🙂  Best dishwashing repairman visit ever, the end.

Okay back to the sauce, here’s the finished product once blended.

Which I whipped up on Saturday afternoon and stashed away for this start-of-the-week meal.  Nothing like homemade fresh flavors with no work after a long day at the office!

But you’ll have to stay tuned for tonight’s adventure in the kitchen to see the final recipe & meal!

HAPPY MONDAY TO ALL 😀

5 responses to “Mexican BBQ Sauce

  1. YUM! You could use this in so many dishes- enjoy. I would put this in some quesadillas

  2. Try roasting them slightly over charcoal.. you’ll get a whole different flavor.

  3. Back in Texas, I’d stuff a turkey with home-made tamales and rub the outside with mole poblano.. then roast it.

    Patricia Quintana writes good Mexican cookbooks, too.
    http://www.mexgrocer.com/50022.html

    Pity this is out of print.

  4. You crack me up. You are definitely going through a phase, but I love it! Your creations are always so drool worthy lady. Hope you are having a wonderful Monday!

Leave a comment